Jamie Oliver’s blackened chicken san fran quinoa salad

IMG_7058

I must confess, I tend to stick to the recipes I’m used to and never really venture out into cooking new recipes that are totally different. I decided that it’s about time I upped the ante with my cooking so I recently purchased my first Jamie Oliver book, Jamie’s 15 Minute Meals and I instantly fell in love with his style of cooking. There’s about 15 recipes I’ve already flagged for must-cook ASAP meals.

I cooked his Blackened Chicken and San Fran Quinoa Salad today and it was incredible. The spices, the freshness – oh my! I highly recommend trying it.

IMG_7051

Here’s the recipe:

Quinoa salad

  • 1 mug (300g) of quinoa
  • 1 fresh red chilli
  • 100g baby spinach
  • 4 spring onions
  • 1 bunch fresh coriander
  • 1 bunch fresh mint
  • 1 ripe large mango
  • 2 limes
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 50g fets cheese
  • 1 punnet cress

Chicken

  • 2 x 200g skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 heaped tsp ground allspice
  • 1 heaped tsp smoked paprika
  • Olive oil
  • 2 mixed colour peppers

To serve

  • 4 tbsp fat-free natural yoghurt

To start:

  1. Put the quinoa into the pan and generously cover with boiling water and the lid.
  2. Put the chilli, spinach, trimmed spring onions and coriander (reserving a few leaves) into the processor, tear in the top leafy half of the mint, then blitz until finely chopped.
  3. On a large sheet of greaseproof paper, toss the chicken with salt, pepper, allspice and paprika. Fold over the paper and bash/flatten the chicken into 1.5cm thick with a rolling pin.
  4. Put chicken into frying pan with 1tbsp of olive oil, turning after 3-4 minutes until blackened and cooked through.
  5. Deseed the peppers and cut each one into 8 strips and add into the frying pan, toss regularly.
  6. Peel and cut mango chunks.
  7. Drain quinoa and rinse under a cold tap, then drain well again and tip on serving board or platter.
  8. Toss with the blitzed spinach mixture, squeeze over the lime juice, add the extra virgin olive oil, mix well and season to taste.
  9. Sprinkle the mango chunks and cooked peppers over the over the quinoa.
  10. Halve and destone the avocado, use a teaspoon to scoop curls of it over the salad.
  11. Slice up the chicken, toss sliced in any juices and add to salad.
  12. Crumble over the feta, scatter over the remaining coriander leaves and snip over the cress. Serve with yoghurt.

IMG_7061

IMG_7070

IMG_7074

IMG_7076

IMG_7071

IMG_7079

IMG_7078

IMG_7082

IMG_7084

I cheated a little bit used this little treasure I found in the spice section at my local supermarket instead of using the paprika and all-spice. It’s called Jamaica Jerk by Fiddes Payne – it had all of the ingredients that I needed in the recipe (and a few extras although I thought it would be well with the recipe still as the blackened chicken has quite bold Jamaican flavours in it which I love).

IMG_7057

I think Jamie exaggerates when he says  ‘anyone’ can do this in 15 minutes – I think I was almost reaching half an hour – the quinoa took 20 minutes to cook to my liking, if you stop cooking it too early is doesn’t become light and fluffy and tends to have a bitter and hard in the middle.

I took a few snaps along the way to make you mouth water… Enjoy!

Much love,

Aimee

x

5 thoughts on “Jamie Oliver’s blackened chicken san fran quinoa salad

  1. Pingback: Food lately | Third Culture Mama

    1. schmackos Post author

      Yes, I totally agree! That’s why I liked to use the jerk spices which was around $3 instead of having to buy a whole lot of them and use a tiny bit of each! A lot of Jamie’s recipes use many ingredients which makes it a bit pricey!

      Reply
  2. Sandra Lees

    Wow, that was sensational, fresh and with a real zing. It has all the ingredients I love. My daughter made it for us – she loves cooking too and now I’m going to get her to make it again -and again.
    I have done a couple of the 15 minute meals and found if you don’t mind making a mess to clean up afterwards (home cooking at its best) then you can get close to 15 minutes if you move quickly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

